UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Read The Latest Issue of Our e-Magazine
A23 Poker
Throwback to IPC January 2020 The Last Live Event Before The COVID Lull Poker
Amarylisa Gonsalves
Posted on 09 May, 2022
By Amarylisa Gonsalves
On 09 May, 2022
By Amarylisa Gonsalves
On 09 May, 2022

Throwback to IPC January 2020 The Last Live Event Before The COVID Lull

This year, the most anticipated Indian Poker Championship (IPC) is back after a hiatus of two long years. The May 2022 edition titled, ‘India Poker Championship Megastacks,’ is all set to kick start on 17th May 2022 at Casino Vegas in Nepal. This year’s edition is undoubtedly grander with a grander venue and an unmissable ₹3.5 crore GTD on offer. The championship is known to get bigger and bigger with each passing year and with its resumption this year following a two-long year wait, the excitement of players is sky-rocketing. 

As we prep for this year’s grand edition, we thought why not take a trip down memory lane and relive the glorious moments of the last IPC held in January 2020. The edition, which had four events on schedule between the 14th to 19th of January 2020, was hosted aboard the luxurious Big Daddy Casino in Goa. Here’s a quick recap:

IPC January 2020 10k Kickoff Event

Vinod Megalmani

The first event of the 2020 edition was the 10k Kickoff Event. This event recorded a total of 315 entries who battled it out. The top 37 places took home a portion of the ₹30.55 Lakh prize pool, as they walked away with a min-cash of ₹18,900. Day 1 concluded after condensing down to a field of the top 22 players, who marched on to Day 2. The final table saw nine players including Aditya Kesharwani, Siddharth Mundada, Vinod Megalmani, Ankit Bhansali, Ashwani Atrish, Patrick Liang, Nimit Patel, Vikram Mishra and Akash Shekhar. Finally, Megalmani and Mundada battled it in the heads-up and Megalmani won the first title of the edition for a payday of ₹6,73,600.

ALSO READ: IPC Megastacks: Theme And Significance

IPC January 2020 100k Highroller 

Anmol Srivats

The second and one of the most action-packed events on the schedule was the 100k Highroller. 210 entries registered for this event, out of which the only top 24 players were paid. The min-cash of ₹88 Lakh was paid. With a massive ₹2.03 Crore prize pool on offer, 58 players made their way to Day 2. After a long battle on Day 2, the final table of nine was set with Anmol Srivats, Raag Fernandes, Harshad Barve, Zarvan Tumboli, Sahil Agarwal, Vivek Rughani, Akash Shekhar, Anish Patra and Kanishka Samant. Finally, it was Srivats, who nailed the event.

IPC January 2020 50K Main Event 

With Casinos Running In Full Swing, Will IPC Make A Comeback?

Rubin Labroo

The coveted Main Event of the series was claimed by the final table chip leader Rubin Labroo. The event which generated an entry field of 693 entries managed to accumulate a final prize pool of ₹3,36,10,600. From this, the top 86 players made it in the money and they all took home a min-cash of ₹82,700. The final table of nine was set with Rubin Labroo, Jagdeep Singh, Pradeep Sharma, Siddharth Mundada, Alexandr Moiseev, Alok Birewar, Manish Gandhi, Abhishek Katiyar, Mubeen Saudagar. Labroo beat Sharma in the heads-up to win a 10 Lakh sponsorship package from Spartan Poker, a luxurious Panerai MS Dhoni Limited Edition watch, worth ₹6,67,000 along with the prestigious trophy!

ALSO READ: Large female contingent at IPC Jan 2020 last week

IPC 2020 15k Head-Hunter

Prajit Ghambir

Prajit Ghambir

The last event of the edition was the 15k Head-Hunter event. The single-day event received 364 registrations. The event ran alongside Day 2 of the Main Event and the min-cash of ₹18,100. The ₹34,76,200 prize pool was shared by the top 41 players. With Prajit Ghambir, Armaan Kochhar, Vipul Tiwari, Himanshu Dwivedi, Kyrylo Lavrov, Danyal Kazi, Sahil Mahboobani, Anil Adiani, and Kabir Khattar on the final table, the final three ended the tournament in a deal. Ghambir nailed the top spot for ₹6,15,400, while Kochhar and Tiwari took the runner-up and second runner-up spot for ₹5 Lakh each.

Apart from this, the last edition also saw several celebrities namely  Anita Hassnandani, Raj Kundra, Aditi Bhatia, Minnisha Lamba, Kunal Khemu, Karan Patel, Rannvijay Singha, Dino Morea and Siddhanth Kapoor among several others in attendance. By this, we understand that the last edition was indeed a roaring success and we’re sure the upcoming edition is going to be even more spectacular and grand. Let’s wait and watch the action unfold at the majestic IPC Megastacks May 2022 between 17th to 22nd May 2022. 

For more news and updates, keep reading Gutshot Magazine. Follow us on our social handles FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Telegram.

Grind In IPC May 2022 Through Sattys On PokerHigh!

More News

IPC Megastacks: Theme And Significance
6 May,2022 

IPC Megastacks: Theme And Significance

Catching Up With IPC Megastacks TD Dexter Mercado
9 May,2022 

Catching Up With IPC Megastacks TD Dexter Mercado

Gutshot Magazine’s April 2022 Edition Celebrates The Return Of Live Events
29 Apr,2022 

Gutshot’s April 2022 Edition Celebrates The Ret...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms