UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Want To Collaborate For Our Upcoming Print Magazine?
A23 Poker
Poker Hall of Fame 2023 Nominations Poker
Smit Trivedi
Posted on 16 Jun, 2023
By Smit Trivedi
On 16 Jun, 2023
By Smit Trivedi
On 16 Jun, 2023

Poker Hall Of Fame 2023 Nominations

The nominations for Poker Hall of Fame 2023 are now open! Yes, you read it correctly. It’s time for all poker enthusiasts to lend their voices and determine this year’s inductee. The fan-nominations will be accepted by the World Series of Poker (WSOP) on their official website (WSOP.com) till 18th June 2023. Individuals who are 40 years of age or older are eligible to be a part of the above-mentioned nominations.

Quite a few non-players have had significant contributions in helping the game grow over the last few years. Notable names include Matt Savage, a long-time Executive Tour Director for the World Poker Tour (WPT), alongside Isai Scheinberg, the founder of PokerStars, with the duo often considered to be major contributors to the growth of this card game.

How are Poker Hall of Fame 2023 members selected?

The prerequisites to be nominated for Poker Hall of Fame 2023 sees players have a long-standing presence in the game while putting up with consistent performances at the high-stakes level. Various factors, like outings at high-stakes cash games, and WSOP bracelets, amongst others, are important. Accumulating good numbers on Hendon Mob stats is also considered to be a vital factor among the various considerations for fans in selecting.

Once all the fan nominations are received by the committee, 10 individuals are shortlisted with the list and then shared with the 32 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame (PHoF) for their vote on the new inductee. The late Layne Flack was chosen by his peers back in 2022, citing his achievement of being a six-time WSOP bracelet winner.

ALSO READ: Alan Keating Misreads His Fives As Deuces, Calls A 100K Raise

The competition to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame 2023 is very challenging and fierce. Despite receiving multiple nominations, few individuals have failed to make the final cut. For example, Matt Savage has been nominated seven times in the past eight years. However, despite coming so close to induction, he has yet to find himself making it to the elite list.

Savage played an instrumental role in establishing uniform tournament rules. Just like Savage, five-time bracelet winner Brian Rast has also claimed himself to be a deserving candidate for the induction.

Scheinberg has also been a prominent figure in the online poker scene, with Daniel Negreanu also advocating his induction in the coveted PHoF. Meanwhile, four-time WSOP bracelet winner Mike Matusow also has a lot of public support and could be the new Poker Hall of Fame 2023 member.

With the current Poker Hall of Fame members and fans allowed only one selection, it will be challenging to see who gathers the most votes. It is worth noting that the likes of Jason Mercier, Scott Seiver, Jason Koon, Tom Dwan, and Justin Bonomo are prominent names who could be nominated in the upcoming years; the pressure is even more to win this time around. It remains interesting to see which deserving superstar makes the cut and is the new Poker Hall of Fame 2023 member.

For more news and updates, keep reading GutshotMagazine.com. Follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and Telegram.

GGPoker Banner

More News

Wynn Stocks See An Uptick Post Barclays Upgrade
19 May,2023 

Wynn Stocks See An Uptick Post Barclays Upgrade

Gameskraft Foundation and Inspire Institute of Sport Join Hands for India's Sporting Champions
22 May,2023 

Gameskraft Foundation and Inspire Institute of ...

Yudiz Solutions Set To Launch Multi-Gaming Platform And Gaming Studio Ahead Of IPO
25 May,2023 

Yudiz Solutions Set To Launch Multi-Gaming Plat...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms