UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Want To Collaborate For Our Upcoming Print Magazine?
A23 Poker
Back in 2004, FiFA Launched its First FIFA Interactive World Cup Esports
Jonathan Pereira
Posted on 27 Aug, 2020
By Jonathan Pereira
On 27 Aug, 2020
By Jonathan Pereira
On 27 Aug, 2020

Back in 2004, FiFA Launched its First FIFA Interactive World Cup

The FIFA eWorld Cup is an annual tournament organised by FIFA in partnership with EA Sports.  32 players who qualify via the EA Sports FIFA Global Series, battle it out for the biggest prize of all. In an attempt to claim the title of FIFA eWorld Cup champion, a big cash prize and a trip to The Best FIFA Football Awards.

Initially known as FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC), which was launched in 2004, as people from nine countries and six continents were brought together in a bid to become the best EA Sports FIFA player. 21-year-old, Thiago Carriço de Azevedo, from Rio de Janeiro, held on to win the final at FIFA House in Zurich. USA finalist Matija Biljeskovic put on a strong challenge against Thiago’s french side, he managed clinch the title with a 2-1 victory over Biljeskovic, in becoming the first ever FIWC Champion

Since the inaugural of this massive tournament, participants from every continent have been battling online to be crowned as the best player. Interactive world cup prize money increased with its rising popularity, according to details, the prize money started increasing after 2012. From winning $26,000 in 2012, the prize money has had an increase of 50% since then. The 2018 and 2019 FeWC witnessed a cash prize of $250,000 and also a chance to meet their favourite football players at a FIFA awards ceremony. The runner-up in the competition also received a prize money of $50,000 and third and fourth place holders received cash awards $6,000 and $5,000

Back in 2004, FiFA Launched its First FIFA Interactive World Cup

FeWC 2019 witnessed a staggering prize pool of $500,000 at The O2 in London, up from  $400,000 the previous year, with the winner bagging a life-changing USD 250,000. The events have provided fun, entertainment and competition to thousands of gaming fans and football fans across the globe. The spirit of the competition has been wonderful and there can surely be no other sporting arena where you will see boys and girls, men and women, of all ages and nationalities competing together on a level playing field.

After watching the success of FIFA eWorld Cup many other sports gaming companies have start their own esports tournaments, such as Fortnite, a first person shooter game. The first ever Annual Fortnite World Cup Championship took place in 2019 with a massive prize pool of $30 million. YouTuber and professional gamer, Kyle Bugha walked away with $3 million by claiming the title in a battle amongst 100 other players.

For similar gaming stories and Esports tournaments across the globe, keep reading GutshotMagazine.com

Tagged : 

More News

The Rise of Slot Machines to the 20th Century
18 Aug,2020 

The Rise of Slot Machines to the 21st Century

AMD Valorant Cup: Largest PC Esports event in India
13 Jul,2020 

AMD Valorant Cup: Largest PC Esports event in I...

Teenager Wins $3 million at Video Game Tournament
9 Jul,2020 

Back in 2019, Teenager Wins $3 million at Video...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms