UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Want To Collaborate For Our Upcoming Print Magazine?
A23 Poker
Thursday Roundup: Mehta, Birewar, Madan, Singh win titles Poker
Team Gutshot
Posted on 27 Dec, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 27 Dec, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 27 Dec, 2019

Thursday Roundup: Mehta, Birewar, Madan, Singh win titles

Thursday night is one warm-up session for online poker players before the bigger tournaments take place over the weekend. Yesterday was no different as we had a number of online poker brands hosting high-guarantee events and many winners emerged, most being past winners, which once again proves that poker isn’t just a game of luck! Here’s our complete roundup of yesterday’s featured tournaments!

Spartan Ultron 20 Lakh GTD

It’s just been a few weeks since this tournament was launched on Spartan Poker and it’s already growing in popularity. With a buy-in of INR 4,400, a field of 429 entries registered to the event last night and by the end of it all, it was online regular Anmol Mehta aka ‘Anzzzz’ who emerged victorious. If you top such a big field, you’re bound to be awarded well and Mehta took home a massive first-place prize after defeating ‘pig_benis’ in heads-up. It couldn’t have been an easy ride for Mehta as there were quite a few known professionals among the 39 players being paid with a min-cash of INR 13,800.

Among them were Lakshpal Singh (38th), Rubin Labroo (34th), Sahil Agarwal (32nd), Yowan Patel (27th), Anuj Yadav (10th), Guneet Kwatra (9th) and others. On the final table, we had Siddharth Karia aka ‘schemer77’ who finished in 6th place while our WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer aka ‘Schumi91’ finished in 5th place. Also on Spartan, we had Day 1A of the Millionaire Lite which saw Arsh Grover ending as the chip leader of the first starting flight!

Summit INR 15 Lakh GTD

This Thursday feature is easily among the most popular featured tournaments on PokerBaazi and last night too, the guarantee was passed with 239 players all contributing INR 8,250 each, creating a new prize pool of INR 17+ Lakh. The Christmas season is still on and the 8pm kickoff tournament went on till 3:21am this morning before Alok Birewar aka ‘TheProfessional’ was declared the winner. He took home INR 4,21,775 in prize money after beating another known name Vaibhav ‘WakhraSwagNi’ Sharma in heads-up. Again, the journey wasn’t easy as there were many known faces finishing in the 27 ITM spots. This included Ashish Ahuja (21st), Gokul Raj (19th), Guneet Kwatra (14th), Ashish Munot (13th), Kartik Ved (11th), Gaurav Sood (7th), Laksh Pal Singh (5th), Rajat Sharma (4th), and many more. Eventually, Vaibhav lost in heads-up and settled for INR 2.95 Lakh for second place!

Highroller INR 12 Lakh GTD

Every Thursday, the INR 7,700 buy-in Highroller is played on PokerStars India and with the higher buy-in, it’s only the better players that tend to participate. Yesterday, 160 entries means the guarantee was narrowly missed and 27 players were paid in all, with Rubin Labroo being the unfortunate bubble boy. Another known name turned out to be the winner in Laksh Pal Singh aka ‘B00mTilt23’ who bagged the top prize of INR 2,42,411 after a long grind. Singh is a known name in the online as well as live felts and last night, it was 2:12am when he dealt the final blow to Gaurav Sood aka ‘3betPanda’ in heads-up, the latter taking home INR 1.8 Lakh for finishing as runner-up. The Final Table would’ve been an exciting one as it included several known faces including Kartik Ved who fired 5 bullets last night and ended in 3rd place. Sumit Sapra finished in 7th place while Sagar Choudhury finished in 8th place. 

Thunder INR 5 Lakh GTD

9stacks (sign-up with code “GUTSHOT“) hosts Thunder every Thursday night and yesterday, they saw 107 entries each paying the INR 4,400 buy-in to participate and play for the top prizes. Vishal Madan plays as ‘GTOcrusher’ on 9stacks and he surely had a great night as he emerged on top of the field, while pocketing INR 1,41,500 for this effort. It’s not the first time Madan has won a major online poker title on 9stacks and it probably won’t be the last time either. Yesterday, 11 places were paid and ‘dhirendra987’ reached heads-up against Madan, the former winning INR 97,500 as runner-up prize.

From more updates on the top online poker tournaments and winners in India, keep reading GutshotMagazine.com!


Sign-up to PokerSaint using the code “GUT100”. Also, check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms