UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Read The Latest Issue of Our e-Magazine
A23 Poker
Matthew Shepsky Wins 2018 Chicago Poker Classic Poker
Team Gutshot
Posted on 15 Mar, 2018
By Team Gutshot
On 15 Mar, 2018
By Team Gutshot
On 15 Mar, 2018

Matthew Shepsky Wins 2018 Chicago Poker Classic

The 2018 Chicago Poker Classic was underway since 1st March 2018 at the Horseshoe Hammond near Chicago. The Main Event was a $2,000 buy-in NLHE event which kick started on 9th March and it was an Illinois poker player, Matthew Shepsky, who shipped the event for the top prize of $195,367 and a brand new BMW.

The event was a $1 million guaranteed prizepool one, and the guarantee was beaten with 646 entries over two starting flights, which reduced to 91 survivors going in to Day 2 and just the final 10 going in to the last day. Finally, Shepsky reached heads-up with Eddie Blumenthal, with the former holding a 4:1 chip advantage but the latter having more live earnings under his belt.

A few hands into heads up is when Blumenthal doubled up and Shepsky realized that things weren’t going as planned. The two then cut an even-chop deal with the same prize money going to both, plus $10,000 and the car to the winner. Eventually, he managed to get his game right and win the title.

In what became the final hand of the tournament, Blumenthal held pocket twos and Shepsky held A-4 clubs, as the flop opened 9s-5c-2c. The turn opened 8-s and with a set of twos, Blumenthal was the likely winner, but the entire game turned on the river, which opened 6c and completed Shepsky’s flush draw, giving him the title, $195,367 in cash and a brand new BMW!

For Shepsky, it was the second biggest win of his career, after the $227,864 he earned for shipping the Heartland Poker Tour Main Event in 2015. This win also took him past the milestone of $1 million in live poker earnings. This would’ve been one of the most memorable days in Shepsky’s poker career, which has spanned over a decade so far.

Final results:

  1. Matt Shepsky – $195,367
  2. Eddie Blumenthal – $185,366
  3. Al Motiwala – $106,744
  4. Bob Dokhanchi – $79,381
  5. Michael Moncek – $59,831
  6. Aaron Steury – $45,697
  7. Mark Oushanna – $35,360
  8. Joseph Saltanovitz – $27,719
  9. Chris Carrigeer – $22,005
  10. Frank Cerminara – $17,691

For more poker tournament results from across the globe, keep reading GutshotMagazine.com!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms