UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Read The Latest Issue of Our e-Magazine
A23 Poker
Gideon Galpo wins Philippine Poker Tournament ME Poker
Team Gutshot
Posted on 13 Feb, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 13 Feb, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 13 Feb, 2019

Gideon Galpo wins Philippine Poker Tournament ME

With a major series at Manila in books recently, the Manila Millions held at Okada, another Filipino tournament series has reached its end. The Philippine Poker Tournament was hosted at the Metro Card Club in Manila, a famous poker destination in the city.

The Main Event of the series had a PHP 4.5k buy-in for the entry and drew a total of 487 entries over the course of 4 starting days. An overwhelming PHP 2 million was guaranteed in the event and saw lots of exciting poker action happening throughout its run.

Gideon Galpo topped the field and emerged victorious, claiming the prestigious Metro title and the first one for 2019. He also earned the 1st place cash prize of PHP 389k (~INR 5.26 Lakhs) after making a 3-way day with 2nd place finisher Jester Intia and 3rd place finisher Danvic Ruiz. Both earned PHP 230k and PHP 340k respectively from the deal.

The final day of this poker tournament saw Galpo play some excellent poker. He sent 3 players to the rail to reach the Final Table of 10 as the chip leader. He went wire-to-wire till heads-up was reached. Galpo knocked out two more players before the heads-up began with Jester Intia.

In the final duel, Galpo lost his chip lead after Intia, a Metro regular, doubled up. However, just a while later he reclaimed his lead and dealt the final blow to Intia as his 6th elimination of the day to claimed his title. Galpo has no prior recorded tournament statistics and this very well could be his first live cash. He has showcased some awesome poker and will be looking to use this welcome bankroll addition to play in the exciting range of tournaments in coming time.

Final Table Pay-outs:

  1. Gideon Galpo – PHP 389,000
  2. Jester Intia – PHP 230,000
  3. Danvic Ruiz – PHP 340,000
  4. Trifie Montebon – PHP 98,000
  5. Joel Melchor – PHP 72,000
  6. Christopher Chua – PHP 56,000
  7. Jolas Guerrero – PHP 44,000
  8. Geno Gendrano – PHP 36,000
  9. Izutsu Shojiro – PHP 28,000
  10. Jimmie Javier – PHP 24,000

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such tournament roundups and poker news from the Asia Pacific region as well as from around the world.

Pokersaint slim - signup bonus

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms