UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Want To Collaborate For Our Upcoming Print Magazine?
A23 Poker
Gutshot Admin
Posted on 08 Sep, 2013
By Gutshot Admin
On 08 Sep, 2013
By Gutshot Admin
On 08 Sep, 2013

Gau Yang wins inaugural IPC Colombo

Gau Yang from China emerged victorious at the INR 25,000 Main Event of IPC Colombo late on Sunday evening. When play ended on Day 1 the previous night at just past midnight, Yang was sitting comfortably on a stack of 53,200 good enough for 3rd chip leader going into Day 2’s final table.

Bangalore’s Raghav was the dominating chip leader with a stack close to 100k and it seemed like he would steamroll the final table on his way to victory. And it almost went according to script when the initial 29 players got trimmed down to just Yang and Raghav facing off in headsup play. Raghav’s lead seemed insurmountable with a 9:1 chip lead over his Chinese opponent.

But Yang was absolutely dogged in determination and managed to catch good hole cards at crucial times, one of them being pocket Queens which lead to his first double up. From then on, Yang steadily chipped away at Raghav’s stack eventually gaining the chip lead. After that it was a shortlived affair, when both players got it in and Yang’s [image name=10s][image name=7s] managed to hit and hold giving him the pot and the title of inaugural IPC Colombo Main Event champion!

In the Money

1. Gau Yang, China

2. Raghav, India

3. Abhishek Garg, India

4. Prateek Lohia, India

INR 5,000 Freezeout

The weekend began with an INR 3,000 Mega satellite which after re-entries gave away 4 seats into the Main Event going one better than the  3 seats guarantee set by the organisers. The first of the side events was played on Thurday evening with 41 players participating in the INR 5,000 Freezeout and local boy Ranga Perara was the last man standing at the end of the night. Perara made it two for two given that he also won a Main Event seat in the previous evening’s Mega Satellite event.

1. Ranga Perara, Sri Lanka

2. Saurabh Saraswat, India

3. Amin Rozani, India

4. Vikas Jethani, India

5. Mukunda D, India

INR 10,000 Freezeout

Friday night’s INR 10,000 event saw 29 players take to the felt and headsup battle finally came down to India’s Abhishek Garg and the UK’s Asghar Rana. The players decided to chop most of the pot and play for the difference and title. Rana who was one of the short stacks at the start of the final table managed to go the distance defeating Garg in headsup battle and took home first prize and the title of 10k Champion.

Third place finisher was Mahek Vyas who was freerolling this event as a result of his free ticket from the India Online Poker Championship league events on PokerStars.

1. Asghar Rana, UK

2. Abhishek Garg, India

3. Mahek Vyas, India

4. Sujeewa Samarasekera, India

The final event of the IPC Colombo weekend was the INR 10,000 Deepstack Turbo event which saw 21 players pony up the buy-in and take a shot at the final title of the weekend.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms