IPL 2024 Dream Team Predictions
Throwback: MS Dhoni Leads India to Champions Trophy 2013 Triumph Sports
Smit Trivedi
Posted on 23 Jun, 2022
By Smit Trivedi
On 23 Jun, 2022
By Smit Trivedi
On 23 Jun, 2022

Throwback: MS Dhoni Leads India To Champions Trophy 2013 Triumph

India, led by MS Dhoni defeated England at Edgbaston to win the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy final, on this day in 2013. The Men in Blue handed the Three Lions a narrow five-run defeat in a match which remains to be one of the most treasured memories for Indian cricket fans.

The ICC Champions Trophy final of 2013 was curtailed down to 20 over game as rain played spoilsport in Edgbaston. India headed into the highly anticipated clash, remaining unbeaten throughout the tournament and were asked to bat first after England won the toss and elected to field.

Check Out BCCI’s picture of MS Dhoni victory of 2013

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma walked out to bat for the Men in Blue. However, Stuart Broad got rid of Sharma early with Ravi Bopara getting the better of Dhawan, who was the top scorer of the tournament. English bowlers make to go through the Indian middle order with Dinesh Karthik (6), Suresh Raina (1) and MS Dhoni (0) all failing to contribute with the bat. The only shining star for India was Virat Kohli who managed to score 43 runs off 34 balls. He was well supported by Ravindra Jadeja, whose 33 from 25 balls helped India to register a decent total of 129.

ALSO READ: India To Play Against Pujara, Bumrah During Warm Up Match

Later, Dhoni masterminded his bowling attack as India spinners manage to strangle the English top order. Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott and Joe Root, all were outdone by Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. Despite India’s dominance in the first few, England managed to get back in the clash riding on the partnership of Eoin Morgan (33) and Ravi Bopara (30).

The duo pulled England closer to victory with their 5th wicket stand as the Three Lions needed just 20 runs off 4 overs. However, Dhoni’s plan of bringing Ishant Sharma back in the attack paid off with the lanky speedster claiming two back-to-back wickets, bringing two new batsmen on the 22 yards.

The last over saw Ravi Ashwin look to defend six runs from the final delivery as England found themselves at 124-8. The Indian spinner managed to outthink James Tredwell who missed to connect the bat to the ball as Dhoni jumped in joy with India winning the final. 

Following the ICC Champions Trophy win in 2013, Dhoni went on to create history by becoming the first and only captain to win all ICC Trophies. The wicket keeper had earlier led India to winning the T20 World Cup in 2007 before captaining the Men in Blue to the 50-over World Cup in 2011.

For more fantasy sports news and updates, keep reading Follow us on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and Telegram

AIO Games

More News

22 Feb,2022 

10 Cricketers With Highest Earnings From IPL

Fantasy sports
31 Dec,2018 

11Wickets signs deal with Amazon Pay

Fantasy sports
13 Oct,2021 

2011 World Cup Hero, Zaheer Khan Roped In As th...


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Top 15 Fantasy Sports Sites

Want to share your thoughts about poker?

Then click the button to submit your article.