Read The Latest Issue of Our e-Magazine
ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021 Sports
Aakash Mishra
Posted on 21 Sep, 2022
By Aakash Mishra
On 21 Sep, 2022
By Aakash Mishra
On 21 Sep, 2022

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men’s T20 Winners From 2007 – 2021

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men’s T20 Winners From 2007 – 2021: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is set to begin in Australia on 16th October 2022. The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 finals will be held on 13th November. The entire world is in the World Cup mood. Team Australia is the tournament defending champion, and as mentioned, they are hosts too. Regarding T20I, one cannot deny that West Indies is the most successful team in ICC T20 World Cup. The Maroon Army had won the title twice. 

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup Live Streaming Update, Where and How To Watch T20 World Cup?

Amid all this, no matter how big a cricketing fan you are, can you tell me the squad’s winning year if I say their country name? Maybe, maybe not! It’s difficult to recall the winning year. What if I tell you IndiaPlays have featured an article that speaks about the ICC T20 World Cup winner of each edition? 

Winners of ICC T20 World Cup From 2007 to 2021

India (2007) Captain MS Dhoni

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

Who in the world can forget the rise of MS Dhoni in world cricket? ICC T20 World Cup 2007 was a newly introduced platform back then and was opposed by several cricketing nations. However, ICC convinced the boards and was set to host the T20 World Cup.

After disappointing elimination from the 2007 ODI World Cup, India refused to participate in the contest wholly and allotted an inexperienced team for ICC T20 World Cup 2007. With youngsters like Robin Uthappa, RP Singh, and Sreesanth, India participated in the tournament. Under the guidance of MS Dhoni, the squad thrashed Pakistan in the finals to lift the ICC T20 World Cup trophy in 2007.

Pakistan (2009) Captain Younis Khan

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

The 2009 World Cup was indeed a roller coaster ride for Pakistan and co. Not being able to play a single T20 game before ICC T20 World Cup, Pakistan lost the first two games of the contest and then ended up being the winners. If you remember the 2009 attack on Sri Lankan cricketers in Pakistan, you may understand how demoralized the team was. After its defeat in Sri Lanka in World Cup 2009, Pakistan lost three games in a row. Each game for the green army was a knockout game.

The squad faced New Zealand in their first knockout and thrashed them by six wickets. After thrashing Ireland with a considerable margin in the next game, Pakistan reached the semi-finals to face tournament favorites, South Africa (SA). Pakistan defeated SA with a huge margin and entered the finals to face Sri Lanka. The team that entered the world cup with such a poor start defeated Sri Lanka in the finals and won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2009. 

England (2010) Captain Paul Collingwood

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

After two consecutive seasons, the world witnessed a non-Asia team as T20 World Cup winners. England under Paul Collingwood and Andy Flower performed extremely well in the tournament and, in the end, defeated mighty Australia.

Kevin Pieterson was named the tournament player for his exceptional performance in World Cup 2010. This was a huge moment for England and co as the squad won their first ICC event. The 2010 World Cup victory boosted England’s morale, and the squad in the future performed several wonders. 

West Indies (2012) Captain Daren Sammy 

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

Considered a T20Is powerhouse, the West Indians faced Sri Lanka in the 2012 finals. Defeating Lankans by 37 runs, WI became the world champions. Marlon Samuels was named player of the match, and thanks to his exceptional batting in the finals, the Indies were able to make it.

Chris Gayle, in the 2012 edition, performed well, and because of him, the Maroon Army could reach the finals and won the tournament. 

Sri Lanka (2014) Captain Lasith Malinga

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

Leading for the first time in ICC events, Lasith Malinga was all set to face MS Dhoni and co in the 2014 ICC T20 World Cup finals. India had already won the 2007 World Cup and was getting eliminated with a close margin in every edition. On the other hand, Sri Lanka reached the finals for the third consecutive time.

After getting thrashed against Pakistan and West Indies, Sri Lanka had to win this. After winning the toss and bowling first, Lankans restricted India to 130 runs and successfully chased the target to win the World Cup. 

West Indies (2016) Captain Daren Sammy 

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

In 2016, West Indies won their second T20 World Cup at Eden Gardens after Carlos Brathwaite hit four consecutive sixes in the final over. Even though India was eliminated from the tournament, over 66,000 people watched the epic match between England and the West Indies in the City of Joy. England advanced to the final by defeating New Zealand, while the West Indies defeated tournament favorites India in the second semi-final to set up the epic clash.

When Eoin Morgan allowed Ben Stokes to bowl the final over to Carlos Brathwaite, West Indies needed 19 runs to win. The West Indies all-rounder hit two sixes in the first two deliveries to help his team get closer to their target. The 2016 World Cup finals were indeed one of the best finals played in the ICC event. It was nothing but complete destruction from West Indies batters. 

Australia (2021) Captain Aaron Finch

ICC T20 World Cup: ICC Men's T20 Winners From 2007 - 2021

There was no stopping Australia as they raced to their first T20 World Cup title. Looking at the 2021 finals, one just can’t ignore how well the Aussies played. The squad earlier promised to play attacking cricket and did exactly what they promised against New Zealand. The squad, after 2010, qualified for the finals for the first time and won it for their nation. Led by Aaron Finch, the squad performed exceptionally well throughout the tournament. 2021 was a dream year for the Yellow Army. 

Well, for the ICC World Cup 2022, almost every cricket board has announced their squad, and trust us, every team looks lethal. All the teams participating in the grand league are indeed one of the best sides in the world. Except for a few teams such as Ireland, Zimbabwe, Thailand, Malaysia, and UAE, the participating squads have worked their charm in their recent tours. 

IndiaPlays ICC T20 WC Banner


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Top 15 Fantasy Sports Sites

Want to share your thoughts about poker?

Then click the button to submit your article.