UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Earn Up To ₹1 Lakh In ‘BluffBuster’ Beta Testing
A23 Poker
Second annual Global Poker Awards awards 25 trophies Poker
Gutshot Editorial
Posted on 11 Mar, 2020
By Gutshot Editorial
On 11 Mar, 2020
By Gutshot Editorial
On 11 Mar, 2020

Second annual Global Poker Awards awards 25 trophies

On 6 March, the second annual Global Poker Awards were officially in the books, recognizing the finest industry people and personalities, commemorating their success and achievements in the year 2019. The ceremony was held at the PokerGo Studio inside the ARIA Resort and Casino in Las Vegas. A total of 25 members of the poker world received honors for their work in 2019 including one double award winner.

The Global Poker Index and Poker Central came together and live-streamed the entire ceremony on PokerGo for free. This year five new awards were added to the list, including Twitter Personality and Toughest Opponent. Jamie Kerstetter won the former while Stephen Chidwick picked up the latter.

Hosted by Maria Ho, who was celebrating her birthday along with Drea Renee, the first award was taken away by Kristen Bicknell claiming the GPI Female Player of the Year award for the third consecutive year while her partner Alex Foxen was awarded GPI Player of the Year for the second straight year.

The poker “power couple” weren’t the only back-to-back winners, Lex Veldhius and Andrew Neeme again won the Streamer of the Year and Vlogger of the year respectively, while the RunGood Poker Series (RGPS) seized the Mid-Major Tour/Circuit of the Year again. Finally, poker photographer Drew Amato won the Photo of the Year, the second year in a row.

Well-known podcaster/player Joey Ingram was the only member present in the ceremony to take home two awards that night. Ingram was honored with the Journalist of the Year award for his “Investigating Mike Postle Hand Histories from Stones Live” and his extensive work and the second award for the Media Content of the Year: Video.

The award ceremony also recognized two poker legends. The true immortals of the game of poker received honors for their lifetime of work. First was Johnny Chan who picked up the first Poker ICON Award and presented with the honor by Poker Hall of Fame Mori Eskandani while ‘Miami’ John Cernuto received The Hendon Mob award for becoming the first player ever to eclipse the 500 cash mark.

Check out some pictures from the ceremony:

You can check out the tweets here:

There were several other notables that won a Global Poker Award trophy for 2020. They are:

  • Robert Campbell, Breakout Player of the Year
  • Phillip Hui, WSOP Poker Players’ Championship win, Final Table Performance of the Year
  • Jamie Kerstetter, Twitter Personality of the Year
  • Stephen Chidwick, Toughest Opponent (Players’ Choice)
  • Jennifer Shahade, The Grid, Podcast of the Year
  • Paul Phua, Triton Poker, Industry Person of the Year
  • Matt Savage, Tournament Director of the Year
  • PokerStars Players’ Championship, Bahamas, Event of the Year
  • Nick Schulman, Broadcaster of the Year
  • Martin Harris, Poker and Pop Culture, Media Content of the Year/Written
  • Jonathan Little, Poker Personality of the Year (People’s Choice)
  • Ryan Riess, 10-high all-in call for the win at EPT Monte Carlo final table, Hand of the Year (People’s Choice).

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such industry news and for general poker news from around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Tagged : 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms