16+ CR GTD
Header banner - Nostra Poker
Click here to get the latest issue of our e-Magazine
Pokersaint - Lead
APT Philippines Iori Yogo wins HR; other winners declared Poker
Team Gutshot
Posted on 27 Apr, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 27 Apr, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 27 Apr, 2019

APT Philippines: Iori Yogo wins HR; other winners declared

The 2019 APT Philippines I, hosted by the Asian Poker Tour began at Resorts World Manila on 24th April of this month and saw a couple of events already in books. The High Roller and the Dream Maker were the first to wrap up and the rest of the usual side-events also declared its champions one by one till today.

Event #1 – Dream Maker

A total of 88 entries were made in the kick-off event of the series. The final day saw 5 players returning to contest for the PHP 547K (~INR 7.34 Lakhs) first-place cash prize. It was only an hour of affair and the tournament saw its winner in Singapore’s Low Zi Cheng, who defeated Christopher Mateo in heads-up to secure the victory. Cheng was also the winner of last year’s opening event in APT Philippines and made a double here. This win also is his career best live score.

APT Philippines Iori Yogo wins HR; other winners declared_2

Final Table Results –

  1. Low Zi Cheng – PHP 547,000
  2. Christopher Mateo – PHP 317,100
  3. Samad Razavi – PHP 196,300
  4. Netnapit Muksatean – PHP 129,400
  5. Hiroyuki Yoshimura – PHP 90,600

Event #2 – High Rollers

The second tournament in the series was the High Rollers which saw PHP 4,171,000 amounting in prize pool. The total 43 entries whittled down to the final 14 on the second day. Japan’s Iori Yogo bagged the top prize in the tournament and earned PHP 1,308,900 (~INR 17.56 Lakhs) as first-place cash prize, beating Philippines’ John Tech in heads-up. Yogo was the subject of our extended interview where he talked about how he fared in 2018. You can read it here.

The final hand saw Tech holding the chip lead, with 72% of total chips in his control. Half an hour later, Yogo overtook him slightly. At one point in the battle, Tech doubled up in a big pot and Yogo was again with a small stack.

IN the last hand, Yogo shoved with Kd Qc over Tech’s Qd 9s and the final board revealed 2s 7s 6h As 10c, enabling Yogo to win with King high over Queen high of Tech. Tech eventually settled for PHP 872,500 (~INR 11.7 Lakhs) as the runner-up cash prize, not a bad amount at all.

Final Table Results –

  1. Iori Yogo – PHP 1,308,900
  2. John Tech – PHP 872,500
  3. Tobias Peters – PHP 606,600
  4. Argyle Alejandria – PHP 438,100
  5. Kannapong Thanarattrakul – PHP 327,600
  6. Linh Tran – PHP 252,900
  7. Hirasawa Fumimasa – PHP 200,800
  8. Markus Garberg – PHP 163,600

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such tournament round-ups and general poker news from around the world.

PokerDangal slim banner - Apr 2020

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dangal box

Top 10 Poker Rooms

Pokersaint box banner


    • Accept .doc, .docx, .pdf, .txt files only. and Max file size 20MB.


      • Accept .doc, .docx, .pdf, .txt files only. and Max file size 20MB.