UtterAI Test Widget
MPL Poker
Gutshot $100 Freeroll On KKPoker - 26th April at 7 PM
A23 Poker
Bharat Kumar makes crazy comeback to win BPT Main Event Poker
Team Gutshot
Posted on 15 Oct, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 15 Oct, 2019
By Team Gutshot
On 15 Oct, 2019

Bharat Kumar makes crazy comeback to win BPT Main Event

We’ve seen 6 days of intense poker action on board Casino Pride 2 in Goa and finally, we have arrived at the end of the 2019 Baazi Poker Tour (BPT), a brand which made its comeback after 3 years in the wilderness. They saved the best for last and on the final day, we didn’t have one or two, but three tournaments declaring its champions!

One of these was the INR 50k BPT Main Event which attracted a field of 567 entries and generated a prize pool of INR 2.66 Crore. The top 63 players were paid and when play resumed yesterday, only 9 players were left in the field, led by Vinod Megalmani, while quite a few known names were also on the FT.

Everyone on the table would’ve been aware of this competition and that’s why when we got down to the 4-way stage, the players decided to cut a deal and bring an end to the tournament. Eventually, they reached an agreement and Tarun Guwalani was assured of INR 34.01 Lakh as he had the top stack at the time. INR 7 Lakh was still to be distributed in the following manner:

  • Winner – INR 5 Lakh
  • Runner-up – INR 2 Lakh
  • Third place – INR 3,000

At the end of the night, it was Bharat Kumar who went on to take down the title and it was one hell of an achievement for the player who made a comeback from being down to less than one big blind at one point of time on the final table. He beat Guwalani in heads-up after the deal and took home a career-best prize of INR 38,01,000, becoming the new BPT Main Event champion!

As per the original calculations, the winner was entitled to receive INR 55+ Lakh but the deal between four players reduced that first-place prize. Finishing in third place was Dhaval Mudgal who has been on a roll, making his third recent FT finish after doing the same in the IPC Main Event and High Roller last month. Last night’s chip leader Vinod Megalmani finished in 4th place!

Kumar mentioned at the star of heads-up how he wants to win this trophy for all Chennai players. Surely he did and this is what he said after winning the title – “This trophy would mean a lot. I am protecting the pride of all Chennai players! We are Team Chennai, so I am hoping that we take this trophy to Chennai now!”

Final Table Results:

  1. Bharat Kumar – INR 38,01,000*
  2. Tarun Guwalani – INR 36,22,000*
  3. Dhaval Mudgal – INR 28,33,000*
  4. Vinod Megalmani – INR 26,55,000*
  5. Chirag Sodha – INR 12,28,500
  6. Hitesh Batra – INR 10,39,300
  7. Maria Kirloskar – INR 8,66,100
  8. Neel Joshi – INR 6,90,200
  9. Abhinav Iyer – INR 5,19,700

* indicates an ICM deal.

The 20k Bounty Event and the 20k PLO Event also concluded last night at the same venue and you can stay tuned to GutshotMagazine.com for all updates from the Baazi Poker Tour (BPT).

PokerBaazi slim banner

Don’t have an account on PokerBaazi? If you wish to play and become a big winner of their massive tournaments and promotions, sign-up now by clicking HERE.

Image courtesy: PokerGuru

Tagged : 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Natural8 India

Top 15 Poker Rooms